Filth

by sobo2013

I have not a lot to say which hasn’t already been said… Nonetheless, never have I lived in such filth! To give some idea of it, the first time I sat in a chair after the 100 Mile Wilderness, my shirt stuck to the back of it, peeling off as I leaned forward. Also, never have my feet taken such a beating… and never did I think anything could persuade me to sit so often directly on the ground and on logs and rocks and the like. Lastly, about the only time we could take flat, even steps was when balancing on rotting planks laid down across the mud and through bogs. Anyhow, it’s now time to move on from Monson, at least partway recovered, and there’s no denying it’s a relief to be done with the dreaded hundred miles of wilderness.

– Jared (a.k.a., “Moss-man”)

