One More Thing

by sobo2013

Well, here I am again, thrust back into the hectic world of paperwork, highway driving, and “official” responsibilities.  It’s been a ridiculously long time since my last blog update, from way back in Rutland, Vermont – and even then I had to be bribed (by my mother) in order to muster up the motivation.  But our tremendous journey is finally concluded, and we’ve been resting and readjusting for a couple of weeks now.  We’ve spent Christmas with our families, and recently even got to enjoy the company of several of our other close friends from college.

As I said soon after being picked up for the ride home, it’s almost as if we awoke from a bizarre, outlandish dream.  I’m tempted to call it a nightmare, as that’s about how it felt while we were hiking through cold, unrelenting rain for days on end.  But we were able to hold it together, just barely, thanks to all of the help that we received.  It’s plain to see that, without it, we would have been in far greater peril of falling short of our goal.

There’s so much to say, I have no intention of trying to say it all.  I don’t mean to write a book.  Through all of the strain and hardship, we suffered no injuries, and our friendships were preserved, and even strengthened.  Our Lord saw us through to the very end – may He do so through the rest of our lives.

– Jared

